Of a Hibernal Hiatus

Some people have asked me if I intend on doing more writing on the Journal blog https://inthisjournal.wordpress.com/. Far be it are my intentions from abandoning the project, God-willing; it’s just that time and more so circumstance have kept me away for awhile. What I have realized over the past few years is that my writing, my Journal writing (electronic or paper) in particular, tends to wax and wane with the seasons. I simply haven’t been successful to date at getting into those artistic modes of mind, when I am sitting inside under the fluorescent lights. I like to Journal write when, as Emily, my fellow Amherst dweller, wrote: “…I feel physically as if the top of my head were taken off.”

 Emily Dickinson's Home-Museum

I can do some social commentary and refutation writing indoors, but that isn’t the same kind of writing I wish to generate with the Journal blog. To get in such a writing mode, I need days in which I can marinate outside in the sun, push the eyes w-a-a-a-a-y to the back of the head, and unscrew the lid off the wig. That’s how, maa-shaa’ Allah, I like to get down.

Our winter this year, as described by one of the Brothers, has been “grimy.” The phenomenally mild winter last year (the mildest I experienced since my time in Dubai) spoiled me, I guess. Praise Allah, we haven’t been pounded by subzero temperatures and weekly blizzards, like the northern third of the nation, but our winter has had lots of rain, and when it wasn’t raining, it was cold and dreary, and when not cold, it’s been at least dreary. I think for the entire winter (until now) we haven’t had three consecutive days of seasonally decent weather. Praise Allah, that has changed as of late (my sitting comfortably around back listening to the robins and cardinals fifteen minutes after sundown bears witness to that), and I’ve been able to move my lab outside to where I can have the sun as my lamp and the broad blue sky for my ceiling. God-willing, I can now get into that “Zone” that I’ve been missing for the past four months.

To all those people who have lent support out there, I would like to say, “Thank you.” God-willing this will be a productive year that will bear magnificent results. Any suggestions, criticisms, or other forms of feedback are always welcome.

With Allah is the success.

Leave a Reply

